DoD Executive Resources Management Office - Advise and Consult

Recent Performance Management and Compensation Policy Guidance

Presidential Rank Awards Information

The Presidential Rank Award (PRA) is one of the highest awards bestowed to the career Senior Executive Service (SES) and Senior Professional (Senior Level and Scientific-Professional) by the President of the United States.

Two categories of rank awards are available:
  • Distinguished: leaders who achieve sustain extraordinary accomplishments
  • Meritorious: leaders for sustain accomplishments.
Only one percent of SES and Senior Professional may earn the respective Distinguished Rank Awards and only five percent of SES and Senior Professional may receive the respective Meritorious Rank Award.

Legislative Flexibilities

Congress, through the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA), grants DoD pay and other flexibilities. These authorities may include limitations, such as reporting measures and sunset dates.

You are now leaving DCPAS.OSD.MIL